The University of Minnesota Crookston held its annual Student Awards Ceremony April 18 in Bede Ballroom and honored a number of individuals for their hard work and dedication over the school year. Among those recognized were UMC Students of the Year - Jackie Calderon, Tristan Morneault, and Gracie Rouland.

View photo gallery:

Watch the event recording here: 

The UMC Student of the Year award goes to a junior or senior who best demonstrates the skills and commitment required to succeed in college, business, and life while exhibiting Golden Eagle Pride, professionalism, and strong work ethic, all while excelling in academics.

In their Student of the Year nominations:

Jackie Calderon was described as making the most of her time on campus, taking every opportunity that came her way. She’s a member of the NCAA soccer team and a representative to the Student Athletic Advisory Committee. Calderon is a double major student in marketing and communications, and has had internships with University Relations, Alumni and Donor Relations, and Athletics. She champions diversity, equity, and belonging, and has shared her story during Hispanic Heritage Month and in first generation spotlight features. Calderon has advocated for accessibility by coordinating efforts to make sure the sidewalks on campus are ADA compliant and has shared a recent petition and photos with Chancellor Mary Holz-Clause. She has also expanded her reach into the community and beyond by assisting with alumni events and efforts, and coordinating the opening event for the university’s leased space downtown. Calderon is also a member of the Campus Advisory and Advancement Board (CAAB) and Campus Art Committee, plus she recently worked to create a comprehensive marketing plan for the City of Crookston’s Parks and Recreation department. She has balanced all of her co-curricular endeavors while maintaining exceptional academic standing and doing it all with steadfast, kindness, and integrity, said the Chancellor.

Tristan Morneault was described as taking the entire Golden Eagle student experience since his first day on campus as a freshman and making an impact on many groups on and off campus. He has consistently excelled academically while being a dual sport athlete, and maintaining leadership positions in various clubs and organizations. Specifically, Morneault has served in leadership roles in the Student Athletic Advisory Committee, Sports & Recreation Management Club, and Golden Eagle Entertainment. He also served as a Student Orientation Staff leader for two years and as a student ambassador for the Office of Admissions. You may have also seen Morneault working at the campus Info Desk. Morneault has helped organize mental health initiatives, blood drives, and donation drives for children within the community, plus he volunteered to sandbag when the river was at a high level two years ago. His nominator emphasized his class, poise, and personality, stating that he exemplifies what it means to be a Golden Eagle. The Chancellor mentioned he is quite personable and always takes time to engage meaningful conversations with faculty, staff, and his fellow students. Morneault has played a critical role in the recruitment and retention of student leaders, and will leave a legacy for the leaders he has guided.

Gracie Rouland was described as a detail-oriented, positive, passionate, committed, and natural leader. She has dedicated her time to the success of her fellow students through leadership roles including Student Orientation Staff specialist, acting as a peer mentor, academic success coach, and academic peer tutor. Rouland has been involved in Golden Eagle Entertainment, Alpha Lambda Delta Honor Society, and Ag Arama. She’s been employed in the campus mail room and as a student ambassador for the Office of Admissions. Whether it’s a short interaction in the mail room or long hours preparing for the Welcome Weekend event, Rouland has been a joy while interacting with students and they can attest to her kindness and warmth. She consistently goes above and beyond, comfortable, and to make others feel welcome on campus. Rouland has extended her reach around campus and beyond representing the Crookston campus at the State Capitol during University of Minnesota Day at the Capitol, and has frequently volunteered her time representing the campus in a positive light. She is an embodiment of good character, always acting with honesty and empathy, her nominator wrote. Her unwavering positivity, drive, and generosity made her an exceptional candidate for the award, said the Chancellor.

The full list of award recipients included:

  • Outstanding Management Student - Christian Norby and Jenna Custer
  • Outstanding Marketing Student - Jacqueline Calderon
  • DECA Summit Achievement - Elizabeth Medlen
  • Outstanding Communication Student - Janie Tormanen
  • Outstanding Equine Science Student - Sarah Schmidt and Izabell Gerbracht
  • Outstanding Equine Business Management Student - Gabriella Siefkes and Christopher Veres
  • Outstanding Horticulture Student - Elena Berger
  • Animal Science Pre Vet Student of the Year - Elizabeth Hurley
  • Animal Science Pre Vet Student of the Year - Braden Letourneau
  • Animal Science Student of the Year - Katrina Kratzke
  • Norman Pankratz Memorial Conservation Award - Samuel Lanners
  • Norman Pankratz Memorial Conservation Award - Hunter Kasprowicz
  • John Polley Soil and Water Conservation Award - Owen Reding
  • The Wildlife Society Travel Award - Eric Gunderson
  • The Wildlife Society Travel Award - Zoey Magner
  • Student Programmer of the Year - Shelby Engels
  • Outstanding First-Year Biology Student Award - Lilly Mahlberg and Marsia Green
  • Outstanding Student in Environmental Science - Javi Xiong
  • Student Impact Award - Javi Xiong
  • Student Impact Award - Catie Fleischer
  • Peer Mentor of the Year - Courtney Vatnsdal
  • Peer Tutor of the Year - Alex Anderson
  • Outstanding Student Orientation Staff Award - Jada Schimke & Hannah Obowa
  • Outstanding Student Group Representative - Lily Krona
  • Outstanding CSA Senator - Evelyn Dupont
  • Outstanding Educator - Terrill Bradford & Morgan Pyles
  • Most Supportive of Students - Leslie Lekatz
  • Outstanding Service to Students - Chris Ehrhart
  • Community Advisor of the Year - KJ Franklin
  • UMC Computer Help Desk Student of the Year - Samantha Olek & Tseten Gurung
  • Outstanding Student Employee of the Year - Clara Hanson
  • Male Scholar Student Athlete of the Year - Jackson Fuller
  • Female Scholar Student Athlete of the Year - Madeleine Schneider
  • Male Senior Student Athlete of the Year - Blaize Sagna
  • Female Senior Student Athlete of the Year - Gabriella Siefkes
  • Golden Eagle Entertainment Programmer of the Year - Kelsey Harms
  • The Inclusion and Belonging Excellence Award - Tsebaot Getachew, Ranjan Khadka, and Norden Bista
  • UMC Student of the Year - Jacqueline Calderon
  • UMC Student of the Year - Tristan Morneault
  • UMC Student of the Year - Gracie Rouland