In celebration of excellence and service by faculty and staff, the annual Faculty and Staff Day was held Tuesday, May 7, in Bede Ballroom.

Years of Service were highlighted by individuals who have been working on campus for 40 years or more. They are Phil Baird and Ken Meyers, who were recognized for 40 years of service.

In addition to recognizing years of service milestones and retirements, the program included the following award presentations:

Distinguished Teaching Award ‐ Karen Miller, lecturer, Liberal Arts and Education Department

Distinguished Faculty Service Award – Sharon Stewart, associate professor, Math, Science, and Technology Department

Distinguished Staff Service Award ‐ Krista Proulx, library services, Library

Distinguished Scholar Award – Rachel McCoppin, professor, Liberal Arts and Education Department

Distinguished Professional & Administrative (P&A) Award ‐ Lisa Samuelson, interim associate vice chancellor and title IX coordinator, Student Activities Community Engagement and Student Affairs

Access Achievement Award – Lacey Anderson, teaching specialist, Liberal Arts and Education Department

Builder of Diversity Award – Venu Mukku, associate professor and research labs director, Math, Science, and Technology Department

The photo gallery of all the awards is available at

Photo, left to right:

Phil Baird and Ken Meyers

About UMN Crookston

One of five campuses that comprise the University of Minnesota System, the University of Minnesota Crookston now delivers 35 bachelor's degree programs and 25 minors on campus as well as 16 degree programs entirely online. These degrees are offered in the areas of agriculture and natural resources; business; liberal arts and education; and math, science and technology. With an enrollment of 1,800 undergraduates from more than 20 countries and 40 states, the Crookston campus offers a supportive, close-knit atmosphere that leads to a prestigious University of Minnesota degree. Visit

About UMN

The University of Minnesota System, with campuses in Crookston, Duluth, Morris, Rochester, and the Twin Cities, is driven by a singular vision of excellence. We are proud of our land-grant mission of world-class education, groundbreaking research, and community-engaged outreach, and we are unified in our drive to serve Minnesota.

PHOTO: (from left to right) Phil Baird and Key Meyers

Story Contact: Shawn Smith