Dani Johannesen
Dani Johannesen

University of Minnesota Crookston associate professor Danielle “Dani” Johannesen, Ph.D. has been announced as a 2022-2023 recipient of the Horace T. Morse University of Minnesota Alumni Association Award for Outstanding Contributions to Undergraduate Education. Those who receive the award become members of the Academy of Distinguished Teachers (ADT) and the title “Distinguished University Teaching Professor” or “Distinguished University Teacher” is conferred upon recipients, plus new members will be invited to participate in ADT events and activities.

Johannesen will receive a one-time cash award of $15,000 which will be transferred to UMN Crookston in September 2023. An awards ceremony recognizing Johannesen and others will be held April 10, 2023 at the McNamara Alumni Center in Minneapolis.

“It means the world to me to represent the Crookston campus as a Morse Award winner and member of the Academy of Distinguished Teachers,” said Johannesen. “I am so proud to serve our campus and our inspirational students.”

“I love teaching undergraduate writing, and UMN Crookston has always supported my efforts to bring creativity and experiential learning to my courses,” she added. “I am grateful to my mentors and colleagues, Dr. Soo-Yin Lim-Thompson and Dr. Rachel McCoppin, for nominating me. I am also grateful to my division head, Dr. Rosemary Johnsen, for supporting the nomination.”

“Dr. Johannesen is an inspirational teacher of first-year composition and advanced writing courses, and her impact on UMC students is recognized by students, alumni, and colleagues,” shared Dr. Rosemary Johnsen, professor and Business, Arts, and Education division head. “Her mentoring of student writers, grounded in her own dedication to writing, exemplifies the practice-informed excellence that is a hallmark of UMC. We celebrate Dr. Johannesen and this well-deserved recognition of her distinction.”

In the award letter, the Vice Provost for Faculty and Academic Affairs says the award “reflects the University’s strong and enduring commitment to outstanding undergraduate education at the University of Minnesota” and Johannesen’s honor will be posted on the Scholars Walk website and announced in the upcoming U of M Brief.

Each year since 1965, the University of Minnesota has recognized a select group of teachers for their outstanding contributions to undergraduate education. This honor is awarded to exceptional candidates who have been nominated by colleges for excellence in undergraduate education. 

Story Contact: Jess Bengtson