UMC Home / Agriculture and Natural Resources Department / Natural Resources Student Awards and Scholarships

Natural Resources Student Awards and Scholarships

The University of Minnesota, Crookston (UMC) Natural Resources program and conservation organizations recognize outstanding students with a number of awards and scholarships. Past recipients of the awards determined by UMC are displayed on plaques in the Natural Resources program area, on the second floor of Owen Hall. The department faculty nominate candidates by March 1st, then review applications and select winners by April 1st each spring.

Norman Pankratz Memorial Conservation Award

Norman PankratzThe Norman Pankratz Memorial Conservation Award was established to honor former UMC conservation student, Norman Pankratz (1950-1970). It is the Natural Resources program’s highest honor to recognize outstanding commitment to natural resources conservation, leadership, and academic achievement. The award, first presented in 1971, consists of a $750 cash award.

View Award Recipients

John Polley Soil and Water Conservation Award

John PolleyThe John Polley Soil and Water Conservation Award was established at the 2002 Ag-Arama event on January 26, 2002, to honor a past faculty member who established the soil and water conservation program at the Crookston campus. He was a beloved teacher and mentor to students. The award is administered jointly by the UMC Natural Resources Club and the Natural Resources Program. The award consists of a $100 cash award. The award fund is supported by donations from former students and friends of John Polley, and it is supplemented by the Natural Resources Club and individuals.

The selection criteria serve to identify the student who "through words and actions, best represents the application of the science and art of soil, water, and related natural resource management to achieve sustainability of people and the environment.”

View Award Recipients

The Wildlife Society Travel Award

The Wildlife Society LogoThe Wildlife Society Travel Award is an endowed fund to support UMC student travel to the annual conference of The Wildlife Society, typically held in September, October, or November. One or two awards varies but typically are a stipend of ~$750 for travel, lodging, registration, and meal costs. Recipient(s) must be at least a junior, majoring in Wildlife Management, be a member of The Wildlife Society at both the student chapter and parent level, and have outstanding character and evidence of leadership.

View Award Recipients

...Awards currently in hiatus

Cabela’s Conservation Award

Cabela's Award LogoThe Cabela's Conservation Award recognizes a senior UMC Natural Resources major who has demonstrated significant potential to contribute to the field of conservation. It was awarded 2001-2008 and was made possible by an annual donation of $500 from Cabela’s® Inc., East Grand Forks, Minnesota.

View Award Recipients

Pheasant's Forever Award

Pheasant's Forever LogoThe Pheasants Forever Award recognizes a new transfer student and a new freshman with significant potential to contribute to the field of conservation. It is made possible by a donation from the Red River Valley Chapter of Pheasants Forever. Two $500 awards are given annually to applicants majoring in Natural Resources at UMC.

View Award Recipients

Other Awards

Natural Resources Students also have received awards from the following conservation organizations:

  • Student Conservationist – Minnesota Chapter of The Wildlife Society. Plaque plus $100.
  • Bob Fedler Award – Minnesota Chapter of The Wildlife Society. Full year membership to The Wildlife Society.
  • Conservation Scholarship – Minnesota Chapter of the Soil and Water Conservation Society. $500.
  • Conservation scholarship – Pheasant's Forever. $500.
  • Conservation scholarship – Isaak Walton League. $1,000.
  • Wildlife Leadership Award – Rocky Mountain Elk Foundation. $2,000.
  • Wildlife Leadership Award Conservation scholarship – Rocky Mountain Elk Foundation. $500.
  • Conservation Scholarship – Becker County Sportsman’s Association to resident of Becker County. $500.