News Release

Sather Scholarship Awarded to Two at the U of M Crookston for 2011-12 Academic Year

By ltollefs on
Thursday, April 14, 2011

Scholarship recipients were recently named by the University of Minnesota, Crookston for Johnson_Falyn 0975.jpgthe prestigious Sather Scholarship. Recipients of the Sather Scholarship for the 2011-12 academic year are Matthew Green (photo at left below), a junior from Greenbush, Minn., majoring in agricultural systems management and Falyn Johnson (photo at right), a junior from Hallock, Minn., majoring in agricultural business.

Students receiving the Russell O. and Inez Sather Memorial Scholarship must be advanced standing students maintaining at least a 3.0 grade point average and having graduated from a high school in Polk, Norman, Red Lake, Pennington, Marshall, Mahnomen, Clearwater, Roseau, or Kittson counties. Applicants were required to write an essay on a person who has had a major impact on their life. Scholarship recipients are chosen by a committee including Ardell Knudsvig, chair; Adam Maruska; Carl Moland; Judy Neppel; and Lori Wagner.

Green_Matthew 0972.jpgDr. Russell Sather began serving as an internist with the Northwestern Clinic in Crookston in 1937. He was called to active duty during World War II from 1942 until 1946 and returned to Crookston in 1947 where he continued to practice until 1985. The scholarship was established in 1986.

Today the University of Minnesota, Crookston delivers 29 bachelor's degree programs, 18 minors, and more than 40 concentrations, including several online degrees, in the areas of agriculture and natural resources; business; liberal arts and education; and math, science and technology. With an enrollment of about 1,400 undergraduates from more than 25 countries and 40 states, the Crookston campus offers a supportive, close-knit atmosphere that leads to a prestigious University of Minnesota degree. "Small Campus. Big Degree." To learn more, visit