News Release

Dual Admission Program Established

By Elizabeth Tollefson on
Wednesday, May 16, 2018

Northland Community and Technical College (NCTC) and the University of Minnesota Crookston announced a new comprehensive Dual Admissions agreement between the two institutions on Tuesday afternoon, May 15, 2018, at NCTC’s Thief River Falls campus. The agreement  bona and holz-clauseestablishes a cooperative academic relationship under NCTC’s NorthernConnect Dual Admission Program. NCTC President Dennis Bona and U of M Crookston Chancellor Mary Holz-Clause signed the new memorandum of agreement that will provide access and opportunity for students from both institutions.

The agreement offers academically qualified NCTC students dual admission to U of M Crookston with the goal of working toward a bachelor’s degree through U of M Crookston while enrolled at NCTC in previously approved academic programs, and a reverse transfer program that permits U of M Crookston students to transfer credits back to NCTC and apply them towards an AA, AS, or AAS degree. Additionally, faculty from both institutions will be provided opportunities to collaborate in sharing, jointly developing and aligning curriculum to advance the quality and efficiency of the program.

NorthernConnect allows NCTC students to be admitted at U of M Crookston through identified dual admission programs. Programs offered as dual admission options will be pre-approved by program faculty and possess specific credit hour and course requirements.

group at signingSelected programs in agriculture at NCTC and U of M Crookston, specifically involving Agricultural Education and Animal Science, will be the first to utilize the NorthernConnect Dual Admission Program. U of M Crookston Chancellor Holz-Clause said, “Initially the dual admission partnership will focus on agriculture. Working together we hope to attract students to the field of agriculture, where employment opportunities are excellent and qualified individuals are in high demand.”

This is the second NorthernConnect agreement implemented by NCTC.  In 2016 NCTC and Bemidji State University executed a similar agreement. NCTC President Dr. Bona said, “The dual admission program takes all of the guesswork out of transferring and allows a student to simply begin work on their bachelor’s degree from day one by taking advantage of the opportunities that both campuses have to offer.”

For more information on the NorthernConnect Dual Admission Programs, visit

To watch the signing video, visit

About the University of Minnesota Crookston

The University of Minnesota Crookston currently delivers 35 bachelor's degree programs, 23 minors, and 40 areas of emphasis on campus as well as 16 degree programs entirely online.  These degrees are offered in the areas of agriculture and natural resources; business; liberal arts and education; and math, science and technology. With an enrollment of 1,800 undergraduates from more than 20 countries and 40 states, the Crookston campus offers a supportive, close-knit atmosphere that leads to a prestigious University of Minnesota degree.

About Northland Community and Technical College

Northland Community and Technical College (NCTC) is a comprehensive college with campuses in Thief River Falls, MN and East Grand Forks, MN. NCTC also has an aerospace site in Thief River Falls, MN and a satellite site in Roseau, MN. NCTC offers certificates, diplomas, transfer courses, two-year AAS degrees in more than 60 areas of study, workforce training and education programs. NCTC is a member of Minnesota State, and is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission of the North Central Association.

In the photo, top, right, are President Bona and Chancellor Mary Holz-Clause. 

In the photo, left, Curtis Zoller, Associate Dean, Agriculture, NCTC; Dennis Bona, President, NCTC; Carey Castle, Vice President of Academic & Student Affairs, NCTC; ADawn Nelson, Agriculture Instructor, NCTC; 
Lyle Westrom, Ag-Ed, AnSc Professor, U of M Crookston; Barbara Keinath, Vice Chancellor for Academic and Student Affairs, U of M Crookston; and Mary Holz-Clause, Chancellor, U of M Crookston.


Elizabeth Tollefson

University Relations