News Release

Athletic Hall of Fame 2009 Inductees Announced by the U of M Crookston; Recognition Event Scheduled for Friday, October 2, 2009, Beginning with a Social at 6 p.m. in Bede Ballroom

By ltollefs on
Monday, August 31, 2009

Crookston, Minn.  - Two alumni and a local radio personality will be inducted into the University of Minnesota, Crookston Athletic Hall of Fame during homecoming weekend. The 2009 inductees include Christina (Nettum) Cyr, '97, Al Strandberg, ex. '79, and Frank Fee, president and general manager of KROX AM radio in Crookston. A recognition event will be held on Friday, October 2, 2009, in Bede Ballroom. The evening begins with a social at 6 p.m. and dinner at 6:30 p.m. followed by a program recognizing the Athletic Hall of Fame inductees and the outstanding alumni for 2009.

Tickets are available by contacting Rose Ulseth in the Office of Development and Alumni Relations at 218-281-8439 ( The event marks the tenth annual Athletic Hall of Fame induction ceremony for the Crookston campus.

The 2009 Athletic Hall of Fame inductees:

Strandberg_A_rszd.jpgAl Strandberg, ex. '79, played football for the U of M, Crookston Trojans. Named most valuable player, Strandberg was also named All American, All Region, and All Conference while playing with the Trojans. His remaining two years of eligibility he played for Minnesota State University Moorhead and was All Conference both years. He signed as a free agent in 1981 with the Dallas Cowboys and played two pre-season games with them before being released due to an ankle injury. Strandberg was picked up by the Arizona Wranglers of the United States where he played for a year for them and briefly for the Chicago Blitz.

Christina "Chrissy" (Nettum) Cyr, '97, was an outstanding member of both the women's
Cyr_C_rszd.jpg basketball and volleyball teams. She was awarded student-athlete of the year in 1995 and again in 1997 for her outstanding athletic and academic performance. All Conference in the North Dakota College Athletic Conference (NDCAC) in 1996, Cyr was recognized as the most valuable player in both volleyball and women's basketball in 1995 and 1997 and a member of the all-academic team from 1995-97. In volleyball, Cyr holds the record for most solo blocks in a season and most career blocks.

Fee_F_rszd.jpgFrank Fee has covered University of Minnesota athletics for many years traveling thousands of miles to cover athletic events for KROX AM radio in Crookston. He is the president and owner of the station, serving as sales manager and sports director as well. Fee is a loyal supporter of the Golden Eagles with a dedication that is unprecedented. He also has served on numerous advisory committees for the campus. In 1983, Fee was recognized with the Torch & Shield award, the highest honor an individual can receive from the Crookston campus.

The induction ceremony for the U of M, Crookston Athletic Hall of Fame will also include recognition of this year's outstanding alumni: Mary Jo (Melbye) Eastes, '79; David Genereux,'80; Troy Olson, '89; and Karissa (Dahl) Olson, '99.

For more information on all the homecoming week events, visit Homecoming 2009 on our Web site.

Today the University of Minnesota, Crookston delivers more than 25 applied-science undergraduate degree programs and 50 concentrations, including several online degrees, in agriculture; arts, humanities and social sciences; business; math, science and technology; and natural resources. To learn more, visit